Thursday, March 13, 2003

West again A-10 player of year

3rd straight win for Xavier star

By Dustin Dow
The Cincinnati Enquirer

DAYTON, Ohio - Xavier's David West was named the Atlantic 10's player of the year Wednesday, the third consecutive season he has won the award voted on by league coaches.

He is the first player in the history of the league to win the award three times.

"I kind of knew it was coming," West said. "But this is a team thing. We've got to do this thing (win the conference tournament) now."

West finished the regular season with averages of 20.4 points, 11.9 rebounds and 3.3 assists while leading No. 10 Xavier to a 24-4 overall record and 15-1 mark in the A-10. The 6-foot-9 forward also was named to the A-10 first team for the third consecutive season and the A-10 all-defensive team for the third straight season.

"He is undoubtedly worthy of the award," said Xavier coach Thad Matta. "He's been incredible, not only this year but just in his career."

West is joined on the first team by junior teammate Romain Sato, who turned in season averages of 18.1 points and 7.1 rebounds. Sato also made the all-defensive team.

Also on the first team: Saint Joseph's Jameer Nelson and Delonte West, George Washington's Chris Monroe and St. Bonaventure's Marques Green.

Rhode Island's Jim Baron was named the league's coach of the year. The Rams finished 17-10 overall.

Xavier center Anthony Myles made the third team. He averaged 10.6 points and 6.7 rebounds.

"For a kid like Anthony, I couldn't be happier," Matta said. "He worked his tail off all year long, every day. He does a lot of extra stuff for us that nobody even notices. To see that pay off for him is huge."

Freshman Dedrick Finn closed out the A-10 awards for Xavier by being named to the all-rookie team after starting 26 of 28 games at point guard and leading the team with 122 assists.

First Team

Marques Green, St. Bonaventure; Jameer Nelson, Saint Joseph's; Romain Sato, Xavier; David West, Xavier; Delonte West, Saint Joseph's.

Second Team

Brooks Hall, Dayton; David Hawkins, Temple; Gary Neal, Dayton; Keith Waleskowski, Dayton; Brian Woodward, Rhode Island.

Third Team

Pat Carroll, Saint Joseph's; Kevin Forney, Duquesne; Ramod Marshall, Dayton; Anthony Myles, Xavier; Alex Wesby, Temple.

Player of the Year: David West; Xavier.

Rookie of the Year: Gary Neal; La Salle.

Defensive Player of the Year: Tony Dobbins; Richmond.

Most Improved Player of the Year: Delonte West; Saint Joseph's.

Coach of the Year: Jim Baron; Rhode Island.

Scores and game wrap-ups

Bearcats blindsided by Southern Miss
DAUGHERTY: Committee holds UC's fate
Like Mardi Gras for Southern Miss
Other Conference USA games
C-USA Tournament Glance
Marquette's Wade C-USA player of year

XU right at home in UD Arena
West again A-10 player of year
Dayton finally gets to play

For Miami, first things first
Does UK need to lose?
UK sweeps SEC coaches' honors
Big East: St. John's trips Notre Dame
Wagner wins Northeast berth
Weber St. to represent Big Sky
Georgia players sue school

Bengals clearing path for Palmer
TE Kelly first addition to Bengals' offense
Playoffs Spikes' top priority in Buffalo
Blake steps into Arizona QB job
Luchey ready to start winning
NFL minorities organize
Raiders sign ex-49er Stubblefield
Officiating mistakes lead to dismissals

Manzanillo could land in bullpen
Reds Notebook: Wilson's debut delayed
Yankees 10, Reds 5
Schott hospitalized again
Piazza charges mound after plunking
Other spring training games
Spring Training Standings
Bonds' ball dispute settled
Baseball Notebook: Ex-Red may have cancer

Arnie and Jack stage final go-round

Roddick rides serve to second-round win

Today's basketball schedule
NCH girls carry city banner to state
6-8 Clemons leads Reading to final
Madeira's surprise run ends
Middletown dumps boys basketball coach
Ky. Games: Holy Cross, Boone, Brossart advance

Return to Xavier front page...

Mail This Story (Click here) Send this story to a friend.