Sunday, September 7, 2003

Theater troupes honored

Southwest Ohio came away a big winner from last weekend's OCTAfest in Columbus. Local community theaters won 20 of 51 awards presented in the annual Ohio Community Theatre Association annual showcase.

Footlighters, which is about to embark on its 40th season, came home the big winner with 10 awards for West Side Story, including performance awards to Brian Anderson, Joy Rolland and Holly Schreier, to director Jay Woffington, music director Julie Woffington and choreographer Michael McCormick.

"Our goal in the beginning was to have a seamless integration of dance, music and book combined under one vision and executed across all elements of the production. In other words, a truly group effort," says director Woffington.

"It's an outstanding accomplishment by a very dedicated cast, crew and orchestra to be recognized at the local, regional and state level. Forty-plus people were so dedicated to this show that they stuck with it for over the past year. I'm glad to see everyone honored for their hard work!"

Other big nods from state went to: director Sue Breving and performers Dee Anne Bryll, Eric Day and Forrest Fairley in Drama Workshop's The Boys Next Door; Joe Hornbaker in Falcon Productions' Rocky Horror Show; and Annie King in Loveland Stage Company's The Pirates of Penzance, which was also honored in particular for the costuming by Carol Wagner and Peggy Stouffer.

Footlighters has announced its upcoming season at the Stained Glass Theatre in Newport: Oct. 9-25, Man of La Mancha; Feb. 5-21, The 1940s Radio Hour; May 6-22, Into the Woods.

Footlighters ticket information: (513) 474-8711.


• Visual arts: The buzz | The exhibits | Gotta see it
• Film: The buzz | The films | Gotta see it
• Classical music: The buzz | The events | Gotta hear it
• Dance: The buzz | The events | Gotta see it
• Pop music: The buzz | The events | Gotta hear it
• Theater: The buzz| The productions | Gotta see it


City sculpts a new image
Carissa Barnard
Jayoon Choi
Christopher Scott Daniel
Richard Fruth
Zachary F. Herrmann
Mike Jacobs
Louis Larson (Unit 2)
Matt Lynch
Kirk Mayhew
Martin Meersman
Dave Rohs
Paige Wideman
Steve Zieverink (Unit 2)
Upcoming sculpture shows
Gala to honor educator, patrons


'I'm With Her' writer really is
Best of Bats Incredible! Terminal strikingly depicted
Get to It: A guide to help make your day


Mainstream no place for Know Theatre Tribe
Local actors chosen for 'Oliver' tour
Half-price loverly way to see 'My Fair Lady'
Steamlined 'My Fair Lady' stays mainly on the plain side
Theater troupes honored
Dance your way through the decades


Cooking classes add dash of new ideas
It's taken a Village to feed Mariemont
Serve it this week: Garlic


Glabicki keeps fans on a string
Everyone German at this gig


Childhood stardom lingers for life


KENDRICK: Designated parking spots abused