Wednesday, November 27, 2002

UC search group forms

Committee will find university's next president

By Kristina Goetz
The Cincinnati Enquirer

Eleven of the 13 committee members who will help choose the next president of the University of Cincinnati were announced Tuesday at the trustees meeting.

Joseph Steger, 65, will retire in June after 18 years as president. The advisory committee to search for his replacement is expected to hold its first meeting in January, after the final two members are chosen in mid-December by the faculty senate.

This group's initial responsibility will be to develop a presidential profile and leadership statement, choose an executive search firm and plan an advertising campaign. Dr. Steger's term ends June 30.

If the committee does not choose a successor by then, he has agreed to stay on as interim president.

The members are:

Jeff Wyler, a member of the UC Board of Trustees. He is president and chief executive officer of the Jeff Wyler Automotive Family.

Phillip Cox, also a UC board member. He is president and chief executive officer of Cox Financial Corp., a financial services firm he founded in 1971.

David Plank, a graduate student in molecular and developmental biology. He is co-president of the Organization of Health Science for Graduate Students and is a student trustee.

Darren Tolliver, an undergraduate political science major. He is student-body president and a student trustee.

Karen Gould, dean of the McMicken College of Arts and Sciences. Her academic background is in French and women's studies, with a particular interest in French-Canadian issues.

Judith Koroscik, dean of the College of Design, Architecture, Art and Planning. She has authored research and policy papers on arts and learning, memory and comprehension, curriculum development and arts policy.

Thomas Boat , community member of the committee. He is director of Cincinnati Children's Research Foundation, chairman of the UC Department of Pediatrics and interim provost for health affairs.

Jeffrey Williams, vice chairman of the UC Foundation. University bylaws stipulate that one person from the foundation be represented.

The three ex-officio voting members are board chairman George Schaefer; Benjamin Gettler, immediate past chairman of the board, and Stephen Thompson, president of the University of Cincinnati Alumni Association.

Mr. Schaefer is president and chief executive officer of Fifth Third Bank. Mr. Gettler is chairman of the board and president of Vulcan International Corp., an American Stock Exchange-listed company.


Vaccine tests on kids raise ethics debate
Smallpox vaccine to be recommended for some
Public to see records on priests
Craven admits affair, denies role in slaying
Bundle up before you head off to Grandma's

City aides would get `living wage'
Judge refuses to make city turn over data in gun case
Loveland OKs deal for historic property
UC search group forms
Obituary: R.C. Vance
Norwood: No on blight study
Tristate A.M. Report

BRONSON: Hold the fries
GUTIERREZ: Boone schools
HOWARD: Some Good News

Traffic crackdown kicks off
Mason invests $3.1M in ATP
Newtown votes to cut fire dept.
Sludge appeal planned
Lakota offices to move
Butler County tax hike could happen, but not without fight

NKU offering more classes at airport
Confederate statue might get company
Lunsford may run for governor
Lucas decides: `I am a Democrat'
Pedestrian bridge set to open April 25
Sniper case reward will take a while