Wednesday, November 6, 2002

Ohio House

Incumbents win almost all their seats back

By Kevin Aldridge
The Cincinnati Enquirer

There were few legislative upsets Tuesday as voters overwhelmingly returned incumbents to their seats in both the Ohio House and Senate.

Jim Raussen, who lost a tight race two years ago to Wayne Coates for a seat in the Ohio House, was one of the few challengers to unseat an incumbent.

Mr. Raussen, a Republican, took an early lead over Mr. Coates for the 28th District state representative seat and never looked back.

Mr. Raussen defeated Mr. Coates 59 percent to 40 percent, according to unofficial results with all 1,025 precincts reporting.

"Perseverance is key not just in politics, but in life," said an elated Mr. Raussen. "I feel happy our message went out and was well received by voters."Mr. Raussen lost to Mr. Coates by more than 500 votes in the 2000 general election. In other Ohio House races, with all 1,025 precincts reporting:

Republican incumbent Patricia Clancy cruised to victory over Democrat Danny Kenneweg, 71 percent to 28 percent in the 29th District.

Incumbent Republican Bill Seitz beat Democratic challenger Bob Klug for the 30th district state representative seat, 76 percent to 23 percent.

In the newly created 31st district, incumbent Democrat Steve Driehaus beat out Republican Sheryl Ross 65 percent to 34 percent.

Incumbent Democrat Catherine Barrett defended her Ohio House seat in the 32nd district, leading Republican newcomer Randy O'Hara 70 percent to 29 percent.

Democrat and former Cincinnati City Councilman Tyrone Yates took a convincing win over Republican challenger Sandra Faith Hall, 66 percent to 33 percent in the 33rd District.

Incumbent Republican Tom Brinkman Jr. soundly defeated Democrat David Schaff, an aide to Hamilton County Commissioner Todd Portune, to defend his seat in the 34th district. Mr. Brinkman won 63 percent of the vote

In Butler County, Republican Shawn Webster was re-elected in the Ohio 53rd House District. Mr. Webster beat Democrat A.C. Mitchell 64 percent to 35 percent with all 289 precincts reporting.

Ohio Rep. Greg Jolivette is headed back to Columbus to represent the 54th district, tallying 72 percent of the vote compared to 27 percent by his challenger, Democrat Arnold Engel.

In the only local contested race for the Ohio Senate, Republican Robert Schuler trounced Democrat Tony Fischer for the 7th District seat. Mr. Schuler received 69 percent of the vote, with all 1,025 precincts reporting.

State Sen. Mark Mallory, D-West End, ran unopposed in the 9th District.


Links to Enquirer stories
Complete results for Greater Cincinnati elections