Wednesday, November 6, 2002

Northern Ky. races

Hamilton loses Boone Co. seat to Terri Moore

By Kristina Goetz
The Cincinnati Enquirer

Boone County commissioner

In the only fiscal-court race, Democratic incumbent Tim Hamilton, appointed to the county commissioner's seat two years ago to fill an unexpired term on the court, lost to Republican Terri Moore, no relation to Gary Moore, but the husband of Boone County GOP Chairman Ed Moore.

Mr. Hamilton, with 8,145 votes, believed that the county's budget surplus should either be spent on projects for residents or be returned to the taxpayers. But Mrs. Moore, with 12,813 votes, said the money would be spent on future projects. She described it as a "capital fund" that is needed to help pay for parks, roads and water lines.

Boone county attorney

In the county attorney race between political rookies Howard Tankersley, the former head of the Boone County Democratic Party, and Republican J.R. Schrand, Mr. Schrand won, with 16,056 votes to Mr. Tankersley's 5,042 votes.

Campbell County races

In the county jailer race, Democratic incumbent Greg Buckler won with 12,261 votes over Republican Jim Sawyer with 8,592 votes.

The property value administrator contest, between Democratic incumbent Mariann Guidugli Dunn and Republican Daniel Braun, was too close to call. At press time, it appeared that Mr. Braun had pulled in front of Ms. Dunn with the counting of the absentee ballots.

In the coroner race, Democrat Ben Neltner with 7,501 votes lost to Republican incumbent Dr. Mark Schweitzer with 13,696 votes.

In the race for sheriff, Democratic incumbent John Dunn was reelected with 12,510 votes over Republican Steve Taylor with 9,103 votes.

In the county constable races, Republican Fred Hoskins was victorious in the 1st District and Republican Jeff Kidwell won in the 3rd District.

Kenton County races

Incumbent Kenton County attorney Republican Garry Edmondson was returned to office with 19,484 votes cast, or 56 percent, compared to 15,075 votes, or 44 percent, cast for Democrat Mary K. "Kate" Molloy.

In the Kenton County jailer race, Republican incumbent Terry Carl took 60 percent of the votes cast, or 19,484. Democratic challenger George E. Russell took 40 percent of the vote, or 13,155 votes.

In the Kenton County surveyor race, James M. Shumate, the Republican incumbent, defeated Jimmy E. Williams, the Democratic challenger.

Mr. Williams had once been Kenton County surveyor. Mr. Shumate received 19,559 votes, or 64 percent of those cast. Mr. Williams received 11,040, or 36 percent of the vote.

Democrat Joseph "Joe" Mueller beat Republican David Cain for Kenton County constable in the 1st District. Mr. Mueller received 3,879 votes, or 54 percent of the vote. Mr. Cain garnered 3,246 votes, or 47 percent of the vote.

In the constable race in the 2nd District, Republican Kenneth L. Hale won decisively with 66 percent of the vote, or 7,605 votes. The closest contender was Democrat Patrick Cross Sr., who received 3,402 votes, or 30 percent of the vote. Independent William E. "Willie" Green posted 4 percent of the vote with 468 votes.

In the Kenton County magistrate race in the 3rd District, incumbent Democrat Stephen L.J. Hoffman lost to Republican Linda R. Geisselbrecht. Mr. Hoffman, noted for his individualistic wedding ceremonies, received 5,113, or 41 percent of the votes.

Ms. Geisselbrecht garnered 7,393 votes, or 59 percent of the vote.

Links to Enquirer stories
Complete results for Greater Cincinnati elections