Monday, October 21, 2002

Promotions and new on the job

David Eckert has been named business director for the nutrition and health business unit, North America at Cognis. Mr. Eckert has more than 22 years experience in the specialty chemicals industry, most recently as vice president of BFGoodrich Specialty Chemicals' (Noveon) food and beverage ingredients business. He received a bachelor's degree from Wesleyan University, Middletown, Conn., and a master's degree from the University of Virginia.

Gene A. Wahler has joined Cincinnati Commercial Contracting as vice president, Cincinnati commercial property management, and Jennifer A. Moser has been appointed vice president.

Michael A. Cheney has joined Fund Evaluation Group LLC as vice president in the investment consulting practice.

Michael J. Bronson has joined the law firm of Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP as first-year associate in the Cincinnati office.

Nick Gressle has joined LPK (Libby Perszyk Kathman) as production director. Mr. Gressle was with LAGA. He graduated from Northern Kentucky University with a bachelor's degree in graphic design.

Brian Harvey has been appointed assistant team leader of the construction/real estate client service team at Barnes, Dennig & Co. Ltd.

Duane Miles has been named principal estimator at Messer Construction Co.; Sandy Meyer to risk manager; Tom Bell, Tony Lemen, Bob Marzheuser and Jerry Noble to project executives; and Sarah Stegman and Missy Bottom to project office managers.

Clifton Lin has been named assistant creative director at Powers Agency.

Tony Parnell has been named field sales representative at Casco Manufacturing Solutions. Mr. Parnell began his career as sales representative for four years with IKON and was also a pharmaceutical sales representative for Pharmacia & Upjohn in Dayton for two years. He received a bachelor's degree from Bowling Green State University.

Jennifer Thomas and Erin Castrucci have joined Forte Industries as marketing specialists.

Bryan K. Whitaker has joined National Marketshare Group Inc. as marketing technologist, and Jim McFarlan joined as field activity coordinator.

Mike Gaburo has been named vice president of business development at Cintas Corp.; Bill Goetz, vice president, clean room; and Jay Bruscato, vice president of marketing and merchandising.

Sherry Wright has joined Johnson Trust Co. as manager of trust services. Ms. Wright has more than 15 years of trust administrative experience. She will serve as primary client contact regarding trust account administration. She was vice president and trust officer with Gradison McDonald Trust. She graduated from Northern Kentucky University with a bachelor's degree in management/finance.

Sallie A. Conyers has joined the law firm of Roetzel & Andress as an associate in the Cincinnati office.

William T. Basich and Michelle E. Niehe have joined Thelen Associates Inc. as graduate engineers.

Russell Benz, Beth A. Connaughton, Thomas Brand, Bruce G. Burke, and Cynthia Woehrmyer have been named assistant vice presidents at Fifth Third Bank, and Molly K. Lampe to assistant cashier.

Kathleen A. Wayner has been named president and chief executive officer of Bowling Portfolio Management, a division of The Renaissance Group where she is also a managing partner. Ms. Wayner will continue to be responsible for business development efforts for Bowling Portfolio Management as well as serving on the investment committee and The Renaissance Group's executive committee.


Mental Health Access Point (MHAP)/Central Clinic was awarded the 2002 Leadership in Demonstrated Measures of Program Performance and Performance Improvement at the Seventh Annual Behavioral Healthcare Leadership Awards in Washington, D.C. Awards were given by Eli Lilly and Co. and Comprehensive NeuroScience Inc.

The following have received the Pioneer Award from the Society for Marketing Professional Services: Steve Campbell, KZF Inc.; Cynthia Jackson, BHDP Architecture; Amy Ostigny, PDT Architects; Fred Weckel, Cole+Russell Architects; Juanita Mills, JM Consulting, and Judi Cline Kadetz, AM Kinney. The following firms were also honored with a Pioneer Award: GBBN Architects, KZF Inc., Graham Obermeyer & Partners and THP Limited.

The American Cancer Society awarded the following volunteers for their outstanding efforts in the fight against cancer: Best Practices Award: John Mays, chairperson of the American Cancer Society's Man to Man prostrate cancer education and support group; Best Practices Award: Anita Carmack, co-chairperson of the American Cancer Society's 2002 Striders' Ball; Best Volunteer in Patient Support: Gerald Bailey, co-chairperson the American Cancer Society's Youth Day Camp; Community of Excellence Awards: Relay for Life in Bracken, Carroll, Gallatin, Henry and Pendleton Counties; and Best Radio Public Service Campaign in a non-metropolitan: Mix 106.5 Kickin' Country.


Robert Half International Inc. has opened a new branch at 10300 Alliance Road, Suite 220, Blue Ash.

Hy-Tek Integrated Systems, a division of Hy-Tek Material Handling Inc. has opened an office at 7847 Tanners Gate Drive, Florence.


Xanodyne Pharmacal Inc. has moved to 7300 Turfway Road, suite 300, Florence.

Short-hop travelers avoiding airline hassles
ECKBERG: Regional colleges key for poor
Promotions & new on the job
Morning Memo