Friday, July 13, 2001

NKU gathers high school scholars

By Scott Wartman
Enquirer Contributor

        HIGHLAND HEIGHTS — Northern Kentucky University is one of three Kentucky colleges that will host the best high school students during this year's Governor's Scholars program.

        About 1,000 high school students from 118 of Kentucky's 120 counties are attending the highly competitive program at NKU, Centre College in Danville and Eastern Kentucky University in Richmond.

        About 1,600 students applied for the five-week educational program, and a statewide selection committee chose the final 1,000 based on academic records, test scores, teacher recommendations, extracurricular activities and essays. Students apply in their junior year and submit applications to their local school board.

        Students in the program live on campus and attend three classes daily: one in a focus area of their choice such as English, mathematics or science; another general studies class focused on hands-on community service; and a seminar class discussing issues affecting students.

        The Governor's Scholars program introduces students to variety of people and ideas, said Kent Juett, campus director at NKU.

        “They get to hear viewpoints from people of all classes and areas of Kentucky,” he said.

        Local high schools and their scholars:

        Beechwood: Evan Brothers and Jennifer Hutton; Bellevue: Tabitha Ervin; Bishop Brossart: Joanna Henke; Boone: Kathryn Burcham, Jamie Hagen and Niel Pfendt; Campbell County: Cameron Coleman, Anna Girard, Jessica Mason, Lindsey Vogt, William Vogt and Angela Wilmes; Conner: Cassandra Carnahan, Laura Edgington, Ashley England, Timothy Meyers and Jeffrey Ours; Covington Latin: Daniel Chen, Anna Gier and Ashley Wolff; Dixie Heights: Allison Douglas, Bethany Krogman, Eli Liechty, Bethany Meier, Diana O'Brien, Lisa Purdy and Jull Wetzler; Grant County: Sarah Fightmaster, Daniel Turley and James Wilson; Highlands: Jeeyeon Cha and Svantje Domizlaff; Holmes: Laura Berry, Natalie Clay, Heather Deck, Stephanie Dziczek, April Edwards, Sara Endicott and Kimberly Wegford; Holy Cross: James Gardner and Mary Jo Tewes; Lloyd Memorial: Timothy Cooper, Kenneth Fibbe, Richard Houston, Adam Leftin and Amy Ray; Ludlow: Rachel Boone; Notre Dame Academy: Lauren Simendinger; Newport: Lana Ng; Newport Central Catholic: Christina Blust and Kelly Ann Koeninger; Ryle: Charles McCloud, Nathan Pinney and Jessica Sanders; Scott: Michelle Clark, Laura Goetz, Stephanie Geotz, Ian Johnstone, Michael Lorenz, William Pennington and Jennifer Utz; Simon Kenton: Jodie Butler, Jeffrey Chambers, Jennifer Clark, Elizabeth Deaton, Lyall Di Trapani and Bryce Kenderes; St. Henry: Nathan Algie, Mark Amann, Christina Schreiner, Peter Voelker and Charlotte Walter; Villa Madonna Academy: Patricia Gaunder and Bobby Dale Henson III; Walton-Verona: Erin Mulcahy, Lacey Ryan and Amy Shupe; Williamstown: Mariah Barker and Anthony Varner.


Worker freed after 10-hour ordeal
Police veterans will lead task force against violence
Red tape to delay med tests
Big pot spikes Ohio Lottery income
Ohio River 'sewer,' Corps told
RADEL: 2012 Olympics
Jobs-for-youth promise not kept, protesters say
Man faces new charge: murder
Silverton jazz series in third year
Trio sentenced for looting store
Zoo baby beats the odds
Cinergy puts off N.Ky. plant
Marijuana 'store' closed by police
- NKU gathers high school scholars
Woman charged in bridge scare
Financier says Butler can lure high-tech startups
Grinn-Barret brings smiles
2 held in passing of bad checks
Residential substance abuse unit to be built in Warren Co.
Shaken-baby forum called 'historic'
Counterfeiting charges top cockfighting
Cyanide is blamed in deaths of Ky. foals
'Deadbeat' parents could be left idling
Kentucky News Briefs
State agencies asked to share in cuts
Tristate A.M. Report