Sunday, October 29, 2000

New driver laws in the Tristate




SPECIAL REPORT
  • Young blood on the road
  • Take our teen driver survey
'Graduated licensing' slow to show payoff
  - New driver laws in the Tristate
  • 'Graduated licensing' slow to show payoff
  • New driver laws in the Tristate
  • Teen doing time for girlfriend's death
  • Scares and rewards: Programs try to make safe drivers
        Ohio, Kentucky and Indiana laws all require new drivers to successfully pass various road-safety stages before becoming fully licensed:

        IN OHIO

        • At 15 1/2, a teen can get a temporary permit. He can practice driving as long as a licensed parent or guardian sits in the front seat.

        • At 16, a teen can test for a probationary license, if he has had a temporary permit for six months and can prove he has completed 50 hours of behind-the-wheel training with a parent.

        He also must have completed 24 hours in a driver's ed class and eight hours behind the wheel with an instructor.

        The probationary license prohibits 16-year-olds from driving from 1 a.m. to 5 a.m. unless they're with a parent, driving to or from work or school, or in an emergency. Passengers are limited to the number of seat belts in the vehicle. There's a 90-day suspension for two moving violations and a one-year suspension for three moving violations.

        • At 17, the 1 a.m.-to-5 a.m. curfew can be lifted.

        • At 18, the probationary license can become a full license.

        IN KENTUCKY

        • At 16, a teen can get a learner's permit if he's passing six of seven required school courses. He must wear a seat belt and have a licensed driver over 21 in the vehicle. He is not allowed to drive between midnight and 6 a.m.

        • At 16 1/2, a teen can become fully licensed if he has had his permit at least 180 days and passed a four-hour class on graduate-licensing.

        IN INDIANA

        • At 15, a teen can get a learner's permit once he is enrolled in a driver-instruction course. He can drive with an instructor or licensed parent or guardian in the front seat.

        • At 16 and 1 month, a teen can get a probationary license if he has had a permit for at least 60 days, no suspensions and certification from the instructor. For the first 90 days of probation, he is prohibited from having any passenger under 21, and everyone is required to wear a seat belt.

        • At 18, he can get a full license.

       



Enquirer endorses Bush for President
Our Agenda 2000 Scorecard
Police prepare for trade-meeting protests
Blue Ash wants to buy airport
Gas main break costs Cinergy
PULFER: Would Dad have stood in line for PlayStation2?
BRONSON: Girl Scout cookies and tattoos
WILKINSON: Campaign ads rated R (Ridiculous)
CROWLEY: Call for a silliness exorcist
SAMPLES: Digesting the olestra uproar
Bicyclists take tour of the past
Center celebrates its success
Good deeds any time
Handicapped youngsters play in soccer tournament
Hospitals vulnerable to new scam
Library lends out 'talking books'
Local Digest
Man accused of kidnapping, robbery
Mayor opposes charter change
Outsider to oversee sludge effort
Protesters hold 'funeral for the mountains'
Rhodes, Gilligan address journalists
State senate candidates talk money
Town mourns football player, 15