Tuesday, January 19, 1999

C-USA: Referee screwed up




BY SCOTT MacGREGOR
The Cincinnati Enquirer

        Conference USA on Monday publicly criticized the official whose error last Thursday contributed to UC's first loss, but the league office said the loss will not be overturned.

        With 17.5 seconds left in that 62-60 loss at UNC Charlotte, official Tom O'Neill blew his whistle on a missed one-and-one free throw situation. UC had rebounded the miss and Melvin Levett hit a three-pointer at the other end, but officials ruled the play dead.

        On Monday, C-USA commissioner Mike Slive met with Dale Kelley, the league's supervisor of officials, to review the play. Breaking the league's policy of not commenting on officials, Slive issued this statement:

        “It is apparent from the review that the ball was live after the missed one-and-one free throw attempt by UNC Charlotte, and that Cincinnati should have been allowed to continue to play after the rebound. However, an official blew an inadvertant whistle stopping play.

        “The conference has departed from its normal policy of not commenting publicly on officiating matters because of this obvious lapse by the official and the fact that this was not a judgement call. The conference regrets this error.”

        C-USA said any reprimand of O'Neill would be handled internally.

       



Bearcats Stories
Logan making his point
- C-USA: Referee screwed up
C-USA NOTEBOOK
Image isn't everything, especially UC's Paul Daugherty column

ESPN The Magazine to feature XU
Image isn't everything, especially UC's
Enthusiastic UK fans turn out for Tubby
JC transfer leads unbeaten Auburn against UK
Mason topples No. 1 Pickerington
DiMaggio recovers, leaves hospital
Broncos aren't bereaved about facing ex-coach
Falcons: Adopting success
Report: Ravens to name Billick coach
Carroll steps up efforts to land races for new track
years later, Volchkov joins 'Clones
No Dillon deal in works
Bowden predicts arbitration